Currently viewing the category: "Ian McWhinney Award"

Dr Paul Humphries
Spruce Grove, AB

After 20 years of practising and teaching family medicine in Thunder Bay, Ontario, Dr Paul Humphries joined a practice in Edmonton, Alberta, where his primary focus is palliative home care. He also joined the Department of Family Medicine at the University of Alberta in 1998, where he is involved in teaching, administration, research, and program […]

Dr Nancy Fowler
Hamilton, ON

Dr Nancy Fowler graduated from McMaster University medical school in 1985. She completed a residency in family medicine where she developed an interest in refugee medicine. Following residency, Nancy combined locums with international health work in El Salvador. In 1988, she settled into a long-term position as junior faculty in McMaster’s teaching unit at the […]

Dr Paul Rainsberry

Dr Paul Rainsberry
Mississauga, ON

Dr Paul Rainsberry holds an MA in philosophy and a PhD in philosophy of education from the Ontario Institute for Studies in Education at the University of Toronto. He spent 38 years as Director of Education for the College of Family Physicians of Canada.   Ian McWhinney Family Medicine Education Award   This award is […]

Dr James Goertzen

Dr James Goertzen
Thunder Bay, ON

Dr James Goertzen is the 2013 recipient of the Ian McWhinney Family Medicine Education Award. This award recognizes an outstanding teacher of family medicine deemed by his or her peers to have made a unique and innovative contribution that has had a significant national impact on the development of family medicine education in Canada. Dr […]